Rare Snow Leopard bug may accidentally erase entire hard drive

Mon, Oct 12, 2009


A rare Snow Leopard bug has picked up steam, or at least publicity, over the past few days and it sure is a doozy.  According to reports, the bug shows itself when a Leopard user with an enabled guest account subsequently upgrades to Snow Leopard.  Upon rebooting, many of these users are logged in as a guest, and soon find that all of their data has been completely erased.  Yikes!  This is a disastrous bug in the most extreme sense of the word, with the latest news being that Apple is officially aware of the problem and is already working on a fix.

“We are aware of the issue, which occurs only in extremely rare cases, and we are working on a fix”, an Apple representative said earlier today.

via MacRumors


3 Comments For This Post

  1. cr Says:

    Ummm…deleting all user data is not the same as erasing the entire hard disk drive….

  2. Dino Says:

    I believe we experienced this over the weekend. It erased not only the computer, but also the entire backup drive. I am now attempting file recovery. What a mess!

  3. CLW Says:

    It DOES erase the whole hard drive (not just user info)– applications and even the icon for the hard drive itself are all gone!

eXTReMe Tracker